Free MMORPG & Free MMOs

Where’s the MMO in MMORPG?

Posted on: July 4, 2009

I must have ranted about this before, but I dislike it a lot when I play an MMORPG with a low or medium playerbase. MMORPGs are supposed to be massively multiplayer. I don’t know about you, but when I hear the words massively multiplayer, I’d like to expect to see a ‘massive’ amount of players running around me doing things, but this is rarely the case, especially as a newbie. If you’re a newbie in established free MMORPG games like Rappelz, Last Chaos or even Twelve Sky,  odds are you won’t bump into any other newbies remotely close to your level, as everyone is already ‘omg leet level 80+’ or at least that’s how it seems.

The only games that really feel ‘massively multiplayer’, at least to me, are brand spankin’ new ones. I remember when Luna Online and Red War first came out, the newbie areas were so incredibly packed that the game actually felt truly massive. I Can’t say these two particular games themselves were great, Luna Online being much better than Red War, but they felt massive, and for me that in and of itself was good. I remember everything a monster spawned, 5 newbies, myself included, would run at it to try and be the first one to attack it in order to secure myself some experience points. Aside from just trying to steal other people’s kills, a game with a large community, is just a more ‘complete’ MMO. More players means more interaction and isn’t interaction the purpose of playing an MMORPG?

Okay okay, I’m going to do something that I don’t usually do in my rants. I’m going to actually offer a solution to this particular issue, rather than just complain about it. I actually talked about this in another rant, but MMORPG publishers should just combine some of their servers into one or two big ones rather than 10-20 medium sized ones. This would instantly ‘grow’ the game’s community, as it would certainly boost player interaction. Super popular MMORPGs like World of Warcraft and Silkroad Online don’t have to do this, as almost all their servers are loaded anyway, but smaller Free MMOs like Luminary: Rise of the Goonzu and EuDemons Online would certainly benefit. One good thing about Browser Games is that they tend to only have one or two servers, which ensures for a better community.

Leave a Reply

