Free MMORPG & Free MMOs

We Need More MMO Racing Games

Posted on: March 11, 2010

Even though there are hundreds of free to play MMORPG and MMO games on the market, there really aren’t enough MMO racing games out there. In fact, the only MMO racing games I can think of off the top of my head are Project Torque, Project Powder, Tales Runner, Drift City and Upshift Strikeracer. These games are all decent at best and what really bugs me is that there aren’t any real popular MMO Racing games. Nexon used to publish an awesome kart racing MMO called Kart Rider, but since it’s open beta 3+ years ago, there hasn’t been any word on whether the game will ever be released or not. I don’t know about you guys, but I think Kart Rider was awesome. It was sort of a free to play Mario Kart style MMO.

Another reason why we need more racing MMOs is that so many of them have shut down. Games like Kart n’ Crazy and GoGo Racer have all closed their doors. I can’t imagine why these games aren’t popular, because racing games have always been enormously successful on consoles. I guess these MMOs are failing because of poor marketing, because Kart N’ Crazy was mad fun. If it were still around today, I would play it. I guess people like playing WoW Clones instead of fun racing MMOs, because new WoW clones like Allods Online and NEO Online are absurdly popular. What on Earth do people see in these games? I mean, they’re alright, but nothing ‘new’.

Leave a Reply

