Free MMORPG & Free MMOs

High System Requirements Are Bad for MMORPGs

Posted on: April 4, 2010

I’ve noticed over the years that MMORPGs, both pay to play and free, are getting better and better. Unfortunately, better and better also means that gamers will need ‘better and better’ computers just to be able to play these newer games. I don’t know about you guys, but I can’t always keep up with the latest technology when it comes to my PC. I’m used to playing free to play MMORPGs like Fiesta Online and Grand Fantasia – which have ‘nice’ graphics that aren’t too demanding. I usually have other programs running as well on the background as well (like AIM, Skype and Firefox) – so my PC doesn’t run graphically intensive games like Alliance of Valiant Arms or Dungeons and Dragons Online too well. I mean, I can usually get them to launch, but it’s too laggy to really enjoy.

I really don’t know why so many games are increasing their system requirements. After all, the most popular free to play MMORPGs on the market right now are simple games like MapleStory and RuneScape, which have low system requirements. Having lower system requirements, means more people can actually run the game, which translates into more profits for the game developers and publishers. I read that Square Enix’s new MMORPG – Final Fantasy 14 will require an 8800GT graphics card to even run. That’s just absurd. So many people will have to upgrade their PCs just to play it. Higher system requirements usually means lower playerbase.

One easy way to address this issue would be for newer games to support extremely low end graphics / resolutions. If higher end games just had an option to make the graphics terrible, but not laggy, that would fix the program. I’m also quite sure a lot of gamers would appreciate this.

Maybe it’s just me ranting, but what do you guys think?

Leave a Reply

