Free MMORPG & Free MMOs

Will Ragnarok Online 2 Ever Release?

Posted on: May 10, 2010

Ragnarok Online was one of the first free to play MMORPGs that I’ve ever played. It’s also a game that I feel really attached to, as I ran my own private server for the game. Come to think of it, I played Ragnarok Online quite a bit. I’m very happy that Gravity, the game’s developer, decided to launch their own free server for the game. Prior to the launch of Valkyrie, the game’s free server, I was playing the game for free on other private servers. I actually felt bad about doing this, as I wanted to support Gravity for making such an awesome game. Now that they have their own free server, I can support them by playing on it. Back when Ragnarok Online first came out, many years ago, there really weren’t any free to play games. The only I could think of that were available back then were MapleStory and RuneScape. Those two games really got the ball rolling – as each of those games today boasts over 60 million registered users worldwide. That’s pretty impressive.

Ever since I first learned about Ragnarok Online 2 in 2005 or so, I was really excited. I always loved Ragnarok, so a full 3D version of the game looked awesome. Unfortunately though, Ragnarok Online 2 still hasn’t been released in North America. I don’t even know if its available in Korea. The game was announced over 5 years ago and still hasn’t come out. This makes me think that its going to join the losers club with Priston Tale 2, Huxley: The Dystopia and Dance Groove Online as a game that’s never going to come out. This is definitely unfortunate, as based on the trailers available, Ragnarok Online 2 looked awesome. I was personally excited about the game because the first game was amazing. Arguably one of the best free MMORPGs ever.

Even though Ragnarok Online 2 looked amazing back in 2005, I don’t think the game looks as amazing today. The game’s sleek 3D graphics look old today compared to graphical wonders like Allods Online and RayCity. I think Gravity should just release the game already. If they wait any longer, the graphics will be so obsolete, no one would play it . Anyone else waiting for Ragnarok Online 2 to release, or am I the only one?

Leave a Reply

