Free MMORPG & Free MMOs

Kingdom Heroes MMORPG

Posted on: May 23, 2010

Kingdom Heroes is a new 3D MMORPG by Aeria Games with a fantasy theme. It is set during the period of the Three Kingdoms, which for some reason, is an extremely popular theme amongst Chinese MMORPGs. Games like Heroes of Three Kingdoms, Three Kingdoms: The Battle Begins and Warriors of the Three Kingdoms for example are all set during the exact same time period. The names can get confusing, I know. The game is currently in closed beta, but for some reason I was able to log in to the game without a beta key, so maybe you don’t even need one?

After a few days or playing, or maybe I should say not playing, I’m level 50. I say ‘not playing’, because Kingdom Heroes is one of those games you can leave on and the game will sort of play for you. No, it’s not exactly like Godswar Online or Battle of the Immortals, but the game has this soldier system, where soldiers (your pets) can be set to attack nearby enemies automatically. The way to gain experience easily is to set your soldiers to attack nearby enemies (weak ones, so your soldiers never die) and then go do something else while leaving the game running. I found leaving the game on over night to be the most effective way to level up.

You could say this ruins the game, but I find it to be interesting as no one really plays Kingdom Heroes for it’s PvE elements. Kingdom Heroes is a PvP MMORPG, meaning the PvP is really the game’s main attraction. So the whole easy AFK leveling system sort of works well. Though it makes me question the reason behind it. Why put up the charade? Why not let players start at max level automatically so they can jump right into the PvP rather than leaving their PCs on leveling their characters for a week. I can tell though, even though I’m still playing Kingdom Heroes, I expect to quit it within a week. The whole auto leveling will make the game boring in the end. After all, I’m spending more time NOT playing Kingdom Heroes than actually playing it.

I guess I should stick with the best fantasy MMORPGs instead of playing random ones. The reason I’m even playing Kingdom Heroes is that I recently quit Allods Online from gPotato and got bored of playing Trickster Online from Ntreev. So I have a lot of free time.

Leave a Reply

